Honorary Members of the Society

Welcome to the page where we proudly present our honorary members. These dedicated professionals have distinguished themselves through their extraordinary contribution to the science and treatment of heart valve diseases. Their commitment and research have had an invaluable impact on both patients and the medical community.

Here we honor the individuals whose work has not only shaped the British Heart Valve Society, but also improved the lives of many. Each of our honorary members has made a unique contribution to our field, and it is our privilege to commemorate them in this special place.

Patrick O’Gara Professor – Cardiology Chair

Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women’s Hospital Heart & Vascular Centre

Maurice Enriquez Sarano – Professor

Mayo Clinic and Senior Scientist, Valve Science Center, Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation, Minneapolis, Minnesota, US

Thomas Modine – Cardiac Surgeon

BordEaux, France

J Chambers

professor John Chambers – Emeritus Professor of Clinical Cardiology

Guy’s and St Thomas Hospital, London

Serge Harb – STAFF CARDIOLOGIST – Associate Professor of Medicine

Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, Ohio

BHVS Blueprint 2020

Stephan Achenbach – Professor

University of Erlangen Hospital, Erlangen, Germany

BHVS Blueprint 2020

Vinayak Bapat – Chief of Cardiac Surgeon

Allina Abbot Nortwestern Hospital, Minneapolis, Minnesota US

BHVS Blueprint 2020

Joao Cavalcante – Director Cardiac MRI

Structural CT and Cardiovascular Imaging Core Lab, Minneapolis Heart Institute and Head of Cardiac Imaging, Allina Health, Minneapolis, US

BHVS Blueprint 2020

Lucy Safi – Cardiologist

Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, US

Join the British Heart Valve Society

Healthcare professionals can become a member of the Society to help support our aims and gain from discounted meeting rates and access to our website members area.

Become a member