J Chambers

1st President (2010-2013) – professor John Chambers

Professor John Chambers became a consultant cardiologist in 1991 and was appointed Professor of Clinical Cardiology at Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospitals in 2009. His specialist interests are cardiac imaging and heart valve disease.

Simon Ray 2

2nd President (2013-2016) – Professor Simon Ray

Professor Simon Ray was appointed Honorary Professor of Cardiology in 2011. His clinical and research interests have focussed around valve disease, cardiac involvement in neuromuscular disease and more recently cardio-oncology.

N Briffa

3rd President (2016-2019) – professor Norman Briffa

Professor Norman Briffa is a consultant cardiac surgeon at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and Reader at the University of Sheffield.

B Shah

4th President (2019-2022) – Dr Benoy Shah

Dr Benoy Shah is a consultant cardiologist at University Hospital Southampton. His subspecialist areas of interest are cardiovascular imaging (specifically echocardiography) and valvular heart disease. 

Join the British Heart Valve Society

Healthcare professionals can become a member of the Society to help support our aims and gain from discounted meeting rates and access to our website members area.

Become a member